I’ll take the rain; you can keep the sunshine

For as long as I can remember, I always took comfort in cloudy, gloomy, and rainy days and I never understood why. I used to ask myself if that made me a depressed person becaused I liked rain better than sunshine. Now that I put more thought into it, no it doesn’t make me a depressing person, the rain relaxes me and makes me feel at peace.

I never realized just how peaceful the rain was. When you take the time to sit quietly and listen to the rain falling you’ll know what I mean. There’s something about water in general that’s very relaxing to the mind and that’s probably why I love the rain so much. 

I remember a few years ago I would download apps that would play nature sounds and I used to love listening to the sound of rain falling. It would help me fall asleep especially. But nothing compares to the actual thing. Not only is it relaxing, it’s also a breath of fresh air. 

If you’re a true rain lover like me, you can sense it in the air when it’s going to rain. You can also smell the rain in the air too. Of course nobody likes the rain when you have to leave the house for work or school, but when you have the chance to be at home while it’s raining, it’s seriously the best feeling ever. 

When I was younger, whenever I’d wake up in the morning I’d look for clouds. Most of the time cloudy weather meant rain and I loved that. It was the best feeling of peace that you could feel within yourself when the rain would fall and it felt like it was “washing away” your troubles and bringing you back to purity. Don’t get me wrong I do love sunshine, but I prefer the rain. ❤️️

Leave a comment